Sarnie-Shop Review: Peppers

There are a few things in my home town of Gloucester, outside my family home, that I miss when I live elsewhere, and most of them are on or around Westgate Street. As such, Westgate tends to be where I head to show visitors Gloucester’s highlights. Gloucester has a beautiful cathedral, one of the first built in the gothic style, which is well worth a visit, and a pub, The Fountain, which is on a site that’s has had an Inn on it for hundreds of years, and still features folk music and morris dancing regularly. I’ve had the pleasure and privilege to sing in both of them at different times. Very different experiences.

But as I was showing my ladyfriend around my home town for the first time, I was dismayed to see the shopfront of one of my other Westgate favourites sitting empty and unlit. Peppers, the delightful organic sarnie and salad shop had closed! Disaster!

It wasn’t until a couple of weeks later, that I discovered that they had moved round the corner to a larger premises, now featuring both inside and outside seating. Callooh! Callay! Oh happy day!

Not long after THAT, I discovered that it had been featured in The Guardian as one of Gloucestershire’s top cheap eats. Quite right too!

As some of you will know, I have been somewhat skinteriffic of late. But upon becoming less-than-stoney-broke for the first time in a while, I treated myself to a brown, seedy baguette filled with one of my favourites from my last stay in Gloucester – Apple, Blue Brie and Mango Chutney.

Before I tried it at Peppers I:

  • had never even heard of blue brie. It rocks.
  • had not been a fan of fruit in sandwiches. What madness is this? But no! It also rocks.

The charming and smiley assistant made it fresh in front of me, cutting into a small round of the brie, and neatly slicing half an apple. I ate it with a local pear & apple juice, which was just the thing for a mild, fruity, creamy, tangy sandwich of joy, whilst sitting in their courtyard, which proved a delightful little bolt-hole away from what hustle and bustle Gloucester could muster on a weekday lunchtime.

If ever you’re in the area, keep an eye out for Bull Lane, just of Westgate Street, and pop in to Peppers. It never fails to make me smile. What more could you ask for?

Leave a Reply

