Sourdough Starter – Day 2

I tried to think of a witty title for this one. But really, it’s a long process and my humour only runs so deep. So I’m saving us all some embarrassment and quitting while I’m ahead. Ahead. Understood?

Read about Day 1 here.

Starter as I found it

So today I fed my sourdough. At this stage, it’s looking fairly unremarkable. Curently it smells mostly of yoghurt, and there’s a sheen to the surface, due to the liquids and solids beginning to separate, but beyond that, pretty much as I left it. That’s okay though, I take a while to get going in the morning, I get it.

Starter as I left it

Today I added 50g/ml (same thing) of water, which I boiled and cooled to 20°C, and then gave it a stir. I then added 2 teaspoons each of organic rye and strong white flour, and gave it another stir. That’s that.

Okay so its not the most thrilling of posts. You wait ’till it starts bubbling. Then you’ll see. You’ll see, I say!

Leave a Reply

